Will I "Really Like" this Movie?

Navigating Movie Website Ratings to Select More Enjoyable Movies

Playing Tag with Movielens, Redux

Last July I wrote an article introducing my use of tags in Movielens to organize my movies. I can’t impress upon you enough how useful this tool is to someone as manic about movies as I am.

Regular readers of this blog know that I’ve shifted my focus to Oscar nominated movies. My research revealed that movies that haven’t receive a single Academy Award nomination have only a 35.8% chance of being a “really like” movie. On the other hand, even a single minor nomination increases the “really like” odds to around 55%. My algorithm now incorporates Oscar recognition.

Based on this finding, I’ve altered my tagging strategy. I created an “Oscar” tag that I attach to any movie I run across that has received even a single nomination. Many of these movies are older without enough credible data in the movie ratings websites to earn reliable recommendations. The probabilities in my algorithm for these Quintile 1 & 2 movies are driven by their Oscar performance.

Movies that pique my interest that weren’t Oscar nominated are tagged separately. Now, because these movies have no Oscar nominations, a Quintile 1 or 2 movie is going to have a “really like” probability closer to the 35% mark that reflects its “no nomination” status. It can only climb to a high enough probability to be considered for my weekly watch list if it is highly recommended by the movie websites and it falls into a high enough credibility quintile that its Oscar status doesn’t matter much.

I apply one of two tags to non-Oscar nominated movies. If they have fewer than 25 ratings in Movielens, I tag them as “might like”. Realistically, they have no chance of being highly recommended in my algorithm until the number of ratings received from Movielens raters becomes more robust.

Those non-Oscar nominated movies that have more than 25 ratings are tagged as “prospect”. Movies with the “prospect” tag that are highly rated by the websites and have enough ratings to reach higher credibility quintiles can reach a “really like” probability high enough to be considered for the watch list. For example, a quintile 5 movie like The American President can earn a 75% “really like” probability even though it was never nominated for an Academy Award.

I also have created tags for movies I don’t want to see even though they are highly rated. If I’ve already seen a movie and I don’t want to see it again, I tag it “not again”. If I’ve never seen a movie but it’s just not for me, I tag it “not interested”. Movielens also has the capability of hiding movies that you don’t want to see in any of your searches for movies. I take advantage of this feature to hide my “not again” and “not interested” tagged movies.

So, I’ve tagged all of these movies. Now what do I do with them. That will be included in next week’s topic “Building a Watch List”.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

