Will I "Really Like" this Movie?

Navigating Movie Website Ratings to Select More Enjoyable Movies

While I Was Away, I Had a Thought or Two

Last Friday my wife and I moved into our new place. Not all of my time this past week was spent wandering through the maze of boxes to be unpacked and wondering which one contained our toaster. Every now and then random ideas for movie studies and articles popped into my head and I’m back to share them with you.

For example, a couple of weeks ago I saw the movie Sing Street. This is the third movie directed by John Carney that I’ve seen, Once and Begin Again being the other two, and I’ve “really liked” all three. There is an identifiable DNA to the movies that certain directors make. In Carney’s case, all three movies are about making music and the not always easy interrelationship the process has with love. There is also a certain DNA to the movies we enjoy watching. I think sites like Netflix and Movielens do a pretty good job of linking our movie watching DNA with a director’s movie DNA. In the coming weeks I plan to explore Movie DNA further.

October is just around the corner and another awards season is upon us. Already buzz about Oscar worthy movies is coming out of the 2016 Toronto International Film Festival, where La La Land has been anointed a Best Picture front runner. In the spirit of the season I’ve begun a data driven study of who are the top male and female actors of each decade for which Oscars have been awarded.

As I’ve begun to look at actors who’ve been nominated for awards in the earlier years of movie history, I’ve run across a number of movies that I’ve never seen before that pique my interest. Is it possible that movie sites like Netflix aren’t as effective in collecting movie DNA for vintage movies as they are for contemporary movies? Is it possible that fewer vintage movies get recommended by Netflix because there is less data in their database for movies that predate it’s existence as a movie recommender website? Would Netflix have surfaced John Carney’s three movies for me if they were made between 1947 and 1956 rather than 2007 to 2016?

As I mentioned in my last pre-sabbatical post, I’m reducing my posts to one  post each Thursday. For me, this blog is all about sharing the results of the research ideas  I’ve involved myself in. It seemed that with two posts a week I was spending too much time writing and not enough time generating the research that you might find interesting. So that’s my plan and I’m sticking to it, at least until I need another sabbatical.

The Mad Movie Man is back and there is much to do.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

