Will I "Really Like" this Movie?

Navigating Movie Website Ratings to Select More Enjoyable Movies

Franchise Action Movies are Gold

X-Men: Apocalypse dominated the box office this Memorial Day weekend taking in $65.3 million in ticket sales. It also received a less than enthusiastic response from the critics, earning a 49% Rotten grade from Rotten Tomatoes. Does this mean that Rotten Tomatoes has little impact on how well a movie does at the box office? Absolutely not. X-Men: Days of Future Past received a 91% Certified Fresh Rating when it opened on Memorial Day weekend in 2014 and took in $90.8 million in ticket sales. The latest entry into the X-Men franchise underperformed its predecessor by 28% at the box office for the same holiday weekend. I suspect much of that deficit was due to the lukewarm reviews X-Men: Apocalypse received.

The story isn’t the impact of bad reviews on this particular movie but the box office immunity that franchise action movies have in general. They come with a built in audience that will show up regardless of how the movie is reviewed. The following is a list of the top ten U.S. box office performers for action movies including their Rotten Tomatoes grades:

Release Year US Box Office (000000) Rotten Tomatoes Grade % Fresh
Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens 2015 $937 Certified Fresh 92%
Avatar 2009 $761 Certified Fresh 83%
Jurassic World 2015 $652 Fresh 72%
The Avengers 2012 $623 Certified Fresh 92%
The Dark Knight 2008 $533 Certified Fresh 94%
Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace 1999 $475 Rotten 56%
Star Wars 1977 $461 Certified Fresh 94%
Avengers: Age of Ultron 2015 $459 Certified Fresh 75%
The Dark Knight Rises 2012 $448 Certified Fresh 87%
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest 2006 $423 Rotten 54%

These box office behemoths have combined for $5.8 billion in ticket sales. Three of these blockbusters aren’t graded Certified Fresh and a fourth, The Avengers: Age of Ultron just barely qualifies as Certified Fresh. What all of these movies have in common is that they are all part of movie franchises. Avatar 2, 3, 4, & 5 are scheduled for release between 2018 and 2023, in case you were wondering why Avatar is considered a franchise. Only Star Wars and Avatar didn’t come with a built in audience from a previous movie in the franchise. Eight of the ten movies were released during Movie Blockbuster season. The other two, Avatar and Star Wars: The Force Awakens, were released during Movie Award season, earning 14 Academy Award nominations and 3 wins. These movies have a combined IMDB rating of 8.2 for males and 8.1 for females. There is little gender gap for this genre.

Franchise Action Movies are  box office gold for the good, the bad, and the ugly (a reference to a franchise of a different genre).


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: