Will I "Really Like" this Movie?

Navigating Movie Website Ratings to Select More Enjoyable Movies

Will You “Really Like” This Movie

My vision for this blog has never been to recommend movies for you to watch. Instead, my focus has been to familiarize you with tools on the internet that will help you find movies that you will “really like”. I also realize that not everyone has the time to rate movies to generate personalized recommendations. So, each week I’ve been posting two lists of movies that I will “really like”, not so much as recommendations, but as ideas for movies you might look into. As I’ve generated these lists, however, I’ve discovered that finding movies with a high probability that I will “really like”, after already watching 1,981movies, can be problematic. Worse still, many of the movies that I’m suggesting you look into don’t even have a high probability that I will “really like” them.

With yesterday’s post I’ve substituted a new list for My Top Ten Movies to Watch, which was really a misnomer. It really was my top ten movies not including the 1,981 movies I’d already watched. The new list, that I call the Top Ten Movies You Will “Really Like” Available on Netflix and Amazon Prime, includes all of the movies I’ve already seen plus the movies I haven’t seen.

Where do these movies come from? They are movies that are recommended by all five of the websites that I use. They are recommended by IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes which are not influenced by my ratings. They are also influenced by the three sites that are driven by my tastes – Netflix, Movielens, and Criticker. When all five sites recommend a movie there is a 74% probability that I will “really like” it. Just to provide some perspective, the sites that you are most likely to use if you don’t have time to do your own ratings are IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes. If IMDB has a 7.4 or higher average rating for a movie, there is a 55.9% chance I will “really like” it. If a movie is Certified Fresh by Rotten Tomatoes, it has a 60.4% probability I will “really like” it.

Of  the 1,981 movies I’ve seen over the last 15 years, 438 have been recommended by all five sites. Of those 438, I “really liked” 362 of them, or 82.6% of them. That’s a high percentage for a relatively large sample size. These movies are your best bets. There are only 8 movies I haven’t seen in the last 15 years that meet the 74% criteria.

I’ve only posted 10 of the 446 movies that are universally recommended by all five sites. Most of those ten you have probably already seen, but they might be worth another look if you haven’t seen them in a while. They are also available to watch now if you are a Netflix and Amazon Prime subscriber. I want to help you find movies that you will “really like”, even if you don’t have the time to rate your own movies.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

