Will I "Really Like" this Movie?

Navigating Movie Website Ratings to Select More Enjoyable Movies

What Shall I Watch Tonight?

The first day of each month is a big day in my obsessive quest to watch movies that I will “really like”. At the end of each month I recalibrate my probabilities and start the next month with a fresh Top Ten Movies to Watch list (see updated list) . Here’s the rub, only one of those movies is available for me to watch tonight. It therefore is really a list of the Top Ten Movies to Watch Someday.

I’m adding a new list under my Movie Lists section, Top Ten Movies Available to Watch This Month. Technically, almost any movie I want to watch is available if I’m willing to pay for it. But, I do have a budget with an already significant allocation to it. So, the movies available for me to watch in a given month are limited to “free” movies available from my cable company (Comcast), HBO, Showtime, Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Netflix DVD (2 a month limit). My list is made up of the movies that are available to watch this month on these platforms plus two movies from Netflix DVD. I’ll generally use the Netflix DVDs to make a dent in my Someday list. There are also some miscellaneous streaming channels (Crackle, Tubi TV etc.) that I’ll use on occasion.

Which brings me back to the first day of the month. While each of these platforms will make some weekly additions and deletions to their available movies, there are wholesale changes on the first day of each month. The supply and demand curve for “What Shall I Watch Tonight?” can be radically altered on the first day of each month.

So, “What Shall I Watch Tonight?” I don’t know yet but check out the list. You’ll find it there.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

